Drug Enforcement Administration


Clyde E. Shelley, Jr., Special Agent in Charge

May 26, 2017

Contact: SA Elaine Cesare

Phone Number: (571) 324-7520

Last Defendant In Major Methamphetamine Trafficking Conspiracy Sentenced

LUBBOCK, Texas - Victor Manuel Castillo, aka “Victor Manuel Garza,” 44, was sentenced today by Senior U.S. District Judge Sam R. Cummings to 188 months in federal prison for his role in a methamphetamine, cocaine and marijuana distribution conspiracy, announced U.S. Attorney John Parker of the Northern District of Texas.

Castillo pleaded guilty in January 2017 to one count of distribution and possession with intent to distribute 50 grams or more of methamphetamine. Castillo has been in custody since his arrest in June 2016.

Castillo and twelve other West Texas residents, including three other members of the Texas Syndicate, were arrested in early June 2016 by special agents with the DEA and the Texas Department of Public Safety, with assistance from the Big Spring, Sundown and Levelland Police Departments, the Howard County and Lubbock County Sheriff’s Offices, the U.S. Marshals Service, and U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement’(ICE) Homeland Security (HSI). 

All defendants have been sentenced for their roles in the conspiracy to the following:

Cruz Perez, aka “Travieso,” 41, 327 months
Christopher Lee Gonzalez, aka “Gonzo,” 44, 327 months
Evan Cruz Parson, aka “Evan,” 22, 168 months
Jose Gutierrez, III, aka “Baby Joey,” 22, 151 months
Christopher David Gonzales, aka “Chris,” 42, 121 months
Jasmine Pillar Hernandez, aka “Crazy,” 33, 120 months
Alexander Alfonzo Mendoza, aka “Alex,” 21, 48 months
Robert Diaz, Jr., aka “Bobby,” 34, 48 months
Adrian Rodriguez, 38, 48 months
Johnny Trevino, Jr., aka “Baby John,” 27, 48 months
Crystal Dimas, aka “Babe,” 29, 33 months
The Texas Department of Public Safety and the DEA investigated.  Assistant U.S. Attorneys Juanita Fielden and Sean Long prosecuted.

DEA US Badge
United States Drug Enforcement Administration DEA.gov is an official site of the U.S. Department of Justice