Drug Enforcement Administration

New York

Raymond P. Donovan, Special Agent in Charge

June 22, 2015

Contact: Erin Mulvey

Phone Number: (212) 337-2906

Three Men Sentenced On Drug Charges

BUFFALO, N.Y. - Special Agent in Charge James J. Hunt, U.S. Drug Enforcement (DEA) New York Division and U.S. Attorney William J. Hochul, Jr., Western District of New York, announced today that Eric J. Humphrey, 36, of Amherst, NY, his father, John E. Humphrey, Jr., 55, of Buffalo, NY, and Anthony Taylor, 53, of Amherst, NY, who were convicted of conspiracy to possess with intent to distribute various quantities of cocaine and crack cocaine, were sentenced by U.S. District Judge Richard J. Arcara. Eric Humphrey was sentenced to 60 months in prison, John Humphrey 12 months and Anthony was sentenced to time (22 months).

Assistant U.S. Attorney Thomas S. Duszkiewicz, who handled the case, stated that the defendants were arrested along with Charles M. Humphrey, Jr. and James Humphrey, Jr. in February 2010 on charges involving the possession and sale of cocaine and crack cocaine in the Buffalo area.

Items seized during the execution of search warrants executed at the time of their arrests included quantities of cocaine, crack cocaine, marijuana, supplies used in the packaging of cocaine and crack cocaine, $153,000 in cash, ammunition and three vehicles.  

The investigation resulted in the liquor license revocation of “The Good Life,” a Bailey Avenue sports bar owned by Eric Humphrey. 

Charles M. Humphrey, Jr. and James Humphrey, Jr. have also been convicted and are awaiting sentencing.

The sentencings are the culmination of an investigation by the Drug Enforcement Administration’s Buffalo Resident Office, New York Field Division, the Buffalo Police Department, and the Erie County District Attorney’s Office. Additional assistance was provided by the Amherst Police Department and the Federal Bureau of Investigation Safe Streets Task Force.

DEA US Badge
United States Drug Enforcement Administration DEA.gov is an official site of the U.S. Department of Justice