Drug Enforcement Administration

New England

Brian D. Boyle , Special Agent in Charge

May 07, 2014

Contact: SA Timothy Desmond

Phone Number: (617) 557-2100

Bangor Resident Pleads Guilty To Bath Salt Distribution Charges

BANGOR, Maine - John J. Arvanitis, Special Agent in Charge of the Drug Enforcement Administration and United States Attorney Thomas E. Delahanty II announced that Alan Ketchen, a/k/a “AJ”, 42 - , of Bangor pleaded guilty today in U.S. District Court in Bangor to conspiracy to possess with the intent to distribute and to distribute MDPV, a chemical compound commonly referred to as “bath salts” or “monkey dust” and to maintaining a drug-involved premise.

According to court records, the members of the conspiracy illegally distributed MDPV in Penobscot County and elsewhere between April and December 2011.  Prior to October 21, 2011, MDPV was classified as a controlled substance analogue.  On that date, it was reclassified as a Schedule I controlled substance.  The defendant packaged and distributed MDPV from his residence on Blackstone Street in Bangor and collected payments for the drug sales. On November 10, 2011, law enforcement agents searched the residence and seized a large quantity of MDPV and other controlled substances, cash, drug records, and drug paraphernalia.

On the conspiracy charge, the defendant faces up to 20 years in prison, a $1,000,000 fine, or both.  For maintaining a drug-involved premise, he faces up to 20 years in prison, a $500,000 fine, or both.   He will be sentenced after the completion of a presentence investigation report by the U.S. Probation Office.

Ketchen is one of six defendants charged as part of the conspiracy.  Co-defendants Daniel Hines, of Bangor; Jessica Bryden, of Greenbush, Maine; Matthew Tardiff, of Old Town, Maine; Adam Hathorn, of Bangor; and Tina Keaton, a/k/a “Fumble”, of Bangor previously pleaded guilty to the conspiracy charge and await sentencing.
DEA US Badge
United States Drug Enforcement Administration DEA.gov is an official site of the U.S. Department of Justice