Drug Enforcement Administration


Keith Martin (Acting), Special Agent in Charge

May 26, 2011

Contact: Brian McNeal

Phone Number: (571) 362-1498

Final Defendant Sentenced In 100 Kilo Crack Cocaine Distribution Conspiracy In Kentucky

Sentences range from 60 months to life in prison for the 20 defendants in DEA-led investigation

PADUCAH, KY - David J. Hale, United States Attorney for the Western District of Kentucky, announced today that Dwayne Michael Joseph was sentenced to 20 years in federal prison for conspiracy to distribute crack cocaine. The sentencing of Joseph by U.S. District Chief Judge Thomas B. Russell, brings to conclusion the successful prosecution of 20 Western Kentucky residents in this large crack cocaine distribution ring.

Joseph, of Hopkinsville, Kentucky, was sentenced to twenty years in prison with 10 years supervised release after being convicted by a federal jury on January 18, 2011, of conspiracy to distribute 50 grams of crack cocaine. Also, convicted were Hopkinsville residents James Lamonte Dunbar and Rodney Edward Moore who both received the mandatory sentence of life behind bars without the possibility of parole. According to evidence presented at trial, between June 2007, and June 2009, in Christian County, Kentucky and elsewhere, the total amount of crack cocaine distributed by this conspiracy was in excess of 100 kilograms.

Previously, Chief Judge Russell had sentenced sixteen co-defendants, who were indicted by a federal grand jury for their role in the crack cocaine distribution conspiracy. All had entered in to plea agreements with the United States Attorney’s Office. Alajawon Burks, Devona Riley and Ronnie Whalen were sentenced to 120 months in prison; Charles Jones was sentenced to 96 months in prison; Marcus Harris and Cameyon Roberts were sentenced to 60 months in prison. Marvin Acree, Perry Redd and Rex Whitlock to 120 months in prison; Amanda Elaine Bush to 240 months in prison; Anthony Hester, 180 months in prison; Alvin Wayne Quarles, 150 months in prison; Donald Williams, 96 months in prison; and Lartavious Banks and Corey Gray to 60 months in prison.

Taking the lead in this nearly two year-long investigation was the United States Drug Enforcement (DEA), with assistance from the Western Kentucky Gun Crime Task Force. The task force includes investigators from the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and (ATF), the Hopkinsville Police Department, and the Christian County Sheriff’s Department . The case is being prosecuted by Assistant United States Attorney Larry Fentress.

DEA US Badge
United States Drug Enforcement Administration DEA.gov is an official site of the U.S. Department of Justice