Drug Enforcement Administration

St. Louis

William J. Callahan, Special Agent in Charge

May 18, 2011

Contact: SA John Leonard

Phone Number: 314-538-4600

Eleven Southern Illinois Residents Indicted In Methamphetamine Conspiracy

- Eleven southern Illinois residents were indicted on May 3, 2011, in a second superseding indictment, charging conspiracy to manufacture methamphetamine, the United States Attorney for the Southern District of Illinois, Stephen R. Wigginton, announced today.

Eddie O. Allen, III, 33, Heidi R. Libbert, 29, Harry R. Libbert, Jr., 32, Charles A. Williams, a/k/a “Spot,” 31, and Samantha A. Johnson, 35, all of Grand Tower, Joshua G. Taylor, 32, and Christopher R. Davenport, 27, both of Murphysboro, Franklin S. Denault, a/k/a “Frankie D.,” 33, of Ava, and Justin L. Stokes, 30, of Anna, recently appeared in federal court in Benton, Illinois, on the one-count second superseding indictment charging conspiracy to distribute more than 500 grams of methamphetamine. Two additional co-defendants, Rodney D. Phelps, 39, of Grand Tower, and Geoffrey A. Phelps, 31, of Marion, are currently fugitives.

The conspiracy offense occurred between 2009 and April 6, 2011, in Jackson, Union, Randolph, and Williamson Counties. The offense carries a penalty of a term of imprisonment from 10 years to life, a fine of not more than $10 million, and a term of supervised release of at least 5 years.

The ongoing investigation is being conducted by the Jackson County Sheriff’s Office, Murphysboro Police Department, Union County Sheriff’s Office, and Drug Enforcement Administration. The investigation is being conducted as part of the Project Safe Neighborhoods DRAGUN Team Initiative, a cooperative effort of local, state, and federal law enforcement, and state and federal prosecuting authorities, aimed at ridding communities of illegal drugs and guns. The Jackson County States Attorney’s Office also assisted during the investigation.

DEA US Badge
United States Drug Enforcement Administration DEA.gov is an official site of the U.S. Department of Justice