Drug Enforcement Administration
Skip Navigation

Press Room
News Releases
E-mail updates red envelope
Speeches & Testimony
Multi-Media Library

About Us
Organizational Chart
Programs & Operations
Wall of Honor
DEA Museum
Office Locations

Careers at DEA

DEA Drug Information
Drug Information Resources

Law Enforcement
Most Wanted
Major Operations
Threat Assessment
Training Programs
Stats & Facts
Additional Resources

Drug Prevention
For Young Adults
For Parents
Additional Drug Resources

Diversion Control & Prescription Drugs
Cases Against Doctors

Drug Policy
Controlled Substances Act
Federal Trafficking Penalties
Drug Scheduling

Legislative Resources


Acquisitions & Contracts

Need to know more about drugs?  www.justthinktwice.com

GetSmart About Drugs - A DEA Resource for Parents

News Release
May 29, 2003

DEA Agent And Local Officers Recognized For
Heroic Actions During Shooting

MAY 29--Saginaw, MI- During National Law Enforcement Memorial, many agencies take the time to recognize the actions of law enforcement officers around the United States. The Saginaw Township, Michigan Police Department honored several officers for their heroic actions that took place on February 25, 2003, during a U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) investigation where DEA Special Agent Tyler Kruse, Saginaw Township Detective Michael Cohee and Nebraska State Trooper Alan Eberle were ambushed in a Saginaw home.

At the May 13, 2003 ceremony, Saginaw Township Police Chief Stephen Renico told the capacity crowd of citizens and law enforcement personnel that these three officers exemplified the truest qualities of what police officers strive to be when they are faced with a life and death situation. Chief Renico also recognized the actions of Saginaw Police Sgt. Anjanette Tuer and Officer Christopher Boes, who were the first uniformed officers to arrive on the shooting scene and transported injured Special Agent Kruse and Detective Cohee to hospitals for their injures. Those in attendance at the ceremony gave all of these officers a standing ovation for their extraordinary actions.

Awards were presented to:

Saginaw Township Detective Michael Cohee:

  • Line of Duty Injury Award
  • Courageous Service Award

DEA Special Agent Tyler Kruse:

  • Line of Duty Injury Award
  • Courageous Service Award

Nebraska State Trooper Alan Eberle:

  • Courageous Service Award

Saginaw Police Department Sgt. A.J. Tuer:

  • Chief's Commendation

Saginaw Police Department Officer Christopher Boes:

  • Chief's Commendation

The DEA is extremely proud of all of these award recipients and extremely grateful that they are all safe and recovering well from injuries sustained. We look forward to our work in the future with these law enforcement agencies and the professionals working for them.

Home USDOJ.GOV Privacy Policy Contact Us Site Map