Operations » Programs » Office of Administrative Law Judges

Helpful Links

Legal Resources

Other contacts


The Administrative Law Judges at the Office of Administrative Law Judges (LJ) conduct formal hearings in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act (5 U.S.C. § 551, et seq) in connection with enforcement and regulatory cases brought by the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) under the Controlled Substances Act (21 U.S.C. § 801, et seq) and its attendant regulations (21 C.F.R. § 1300, et seq). United States Administrative Law Judges are appointed for life under the Administrative Procedure Act through a complex, merit-based process administered by the Office of Personnel Management (OPM), and execute their duties with complete judicial/decisional independence from the Agency. DEA Administrative Law Judges may not perform non-adjudicative duties, are precluded from investigative responsibilities, may not receive ex-parte communications, are not subject to performance evaluations, and may not receive performance awards of any kind. The Government is represented at all hearings by the DEA Office of Chief Counsel (CC). Recommended decisions issued by the Judges are forwarded to the DEA Administrator, who issues final Agency decisions. In executing the judicial functions connected with the issuance of final Agency decisions, the Administrator is advised by a legal advisor who is organizationally independent from the CC and LJ. Final Agency decisions are published in the Federal Register, and may be appealed to the United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia or to the United States Court of Appeals in the circuit where a registrant maintains a principal place of business (21 U.S.C. § 877). LJ is also charged with the responsibility for the monitoring and tracking of administrative enforcement cases filed by CC and rendering regular reports to the DEA Administrator on case load, case progress, and timeliness statistics.


Contact Information
Office of Administrative
Law Judges

8701 Morrissette Drive
Springfield, VA 22152
Chambers & Courtroom
1550 Crystal Drive, 9th Floor
Arlington, VA 22202
Telephone: (202) 307-8188
Facsimile(202) 307-8198

Chief Administrative Law Judge Hon. John J. Mulrooney, II
Law Clerk Mary E. Kanowsky, Esq.
Secretary Ikea C. Lewis
Administrative Law Judge Hon. Charles Wm. Dorman
Law Clerk Devin A. deBruyn, Esq.
Secretary Carlene R. Thomas
Administrative Law Judge Hon. Mark M. Dowd
Law Clerk Sara M. Klock
Secretary Chakia C. Lyles
Hearing Office Director Roxann E. Eline
Hearing Clerk Helen D. Walker
Secretary Rhonda L. Gore


Receive E-mail Updates Receive E-mail Updates @DEAHQ Twitter Account button Hover @DEAHQ Twitter Account button Report Synthetic Drug Source button Hover Report Synthetic Drug Source button

Stay Connected Facebook Twitter YouTube


A-Z Index  Accessibility   Contact Us  FOIA  Legal Policies & Disclaimers  
No FEAR Act   Privacy Policy Plug-Ins Whistleblower Protection