News Release
February 5, 2008
Contact: Thomas E. Murphy
(314) 538-4660

Council Bluffs Resident Sentenced to Ten Years for Distributing Methamphetamine

FEB 5 -- Des Moines, IA - On February 1, 2008, fifty-five year old Padgett James Hoffman of Council Bluffs, Iowa, was sentenced to ten years for Conspiracy to Distribute Methamphetamine in Western Iowa, announced United States Attorney Matthew G. Whitaker. Senior United States District Judge Ronald E. Longstaff also ordered Hoffman to serve a five year term of supervised release following incarceration and to pay an assessment of $100 to The Crime Victim Fund .

Hoffman entered a guilty plea to conspiring to distributing methamphetamine in Western Iowa between January 2006 and December 2006, on August 31, 2007. Hoffman is one of fourteen people involved in the network that distributed methamphetamine received from Mexico through Omaha into Western Iowa. Previously Angela Wise was sentenced to 168 months on July 27, 2007, Michelle Newton was sentenced to 120 months on August 24, 2007, Kent Merksick was sentenced to 160 months on September 17, 2007, Kenneth L. Ragland, a/k/a Kenneth McCoy, was sentenced to 216 years on September 24, 2007, Carol Ann Wheeler was sentenced to 170 months on October 12, 2007, Steven Dale Bascue was sentenced to 168 months on October 26, 2007, Travis Lee Lebanousky was sentenced to 97 months on November 2, 2007, Melvin Parra Acosta was sentenced to 135 months on November 16, 2007 and Melissa Hiltabidel was sentenced to 58 months on November 30, 2007.

The investigation was conducted by the Drug Enforcement Administration, the Council Bluffs, Iowa, Police Department, the SWINE Task Force, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Pottawattamie County Attorney’s Office, and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.