About » Office Locations » Miami Division » Miami News

July 16, 2015
Contact: Public Information Officer
Number: 954-660-4602

Central Florida Drug Trafficking Organization Members Arrested for Cocaine Trafficking in Joint Agency Investigation Operation Ruff Rider

JUL 16 (ORLANDO, Fla.) – The Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA), the Orlando Metropolitan Bureau of Investigation (MBI), the Florida Attorney General’s Office of Statewide Prosecution (OSWP), with the assistance of the Orange County Sheriff’s Office (OCSO), Orlando Police Department (OPD), and Osceola County Sheriff’s Office (OCSO), announced that charges have been filed, and arrest warrants have been issued, naming nine individuals of being part of a central Florida cocaine trafficking organization.  Charges include:  Trafficking in Cocaine, over 400 Grams, and Conspiracy to Traffic in Cocaine, over 400 Grams. 

Those charged this week are Curtis Ruff, Dave Romero, Jair Javier Olivo Ramirez, Angel L. Valdes JR, Wilson Martinez Rodriguez, Antonio Davis, Deborah DelGado, Emery James, and Darrell Williams.  Most of these individuals have extensive drug related criminal histories.

Since Tuesday evening, agents have executed several search warrants and arrest warrants throughout central Florida.  During this operation, agents have arrested eight individuals, seized approximately $600, 000 in assets, and 10 weapons.  Ruff, who has been identified as one of the leaders of this drug trafficking organization (DTO), is the only defendant still at large.   

In August 2014, members of the MBI and the DEA Orlando District Office began to investigate the Ruff DTO.  This DTO was responsible for distributing multi-kilogram quantities of cocaine to several individual drug dealers in the central Florida area.  More than 12 kilograms of cocaine have been seized during the investigation.    

This investigation was conducted by the DEA Orlando District Office, and the MBI.  The MBI is a multi-agency Narcotics, Vice and Organized Crime Law Enforcement Task Force assigned to the Orange and Osceola Counties.  The member agencies of MBI are the State Attorney of the Ninth Judicial Circuit; OCSO; OPD; Winter Park Police Department; Apopka Police Department; Ocoee Police Department; University of Central Florida Police Department; Sheriff of Osceola County; Florida Department of Law Enforcement; Winter Garden Police Department; Florida Highway Patrol; Immigration and Customs Enforcement; Federal Bureau of Investigation, United States Postal Inspection Service, and the United States Secret Service. This investigation is being prosecuted by the OSWP.


Receive E-mail Updates Receive E-mail Updates @DEAHQ Twitter Account button Hover @DEAHQ Twitter Account button Report Synthetic Drug Source button Hover Report Synthetic Drug Source button

Stay Connected Facebook Twitter YouTube


A-Z Index  Accessibility   Contact Us  FOIA  Legal Policies & Disclaimers  
No FEAR Act   Privacy Policy Plug-Ins Whistleblower Protection