About » Foreign Offices » Caribbean
Caribbean Region Banner


The Caribbean Field Division (FD) is unique in that it is comprised of both domestic and foreign offices.  Headquartered in San Juan, the Caribbean FD has oversight responsibility for the island of Puerto Rico, United States Virgin Islands (USVI), 27 island nations throughout the Caribbean, and the countries of Guyana and Suriname in South America.  There are 7 DEA Caribbean island country offices located in Barbados, Curacao, Dominican Republic, Haiti, Jamaica, Suriname, and Trinidad and Tobago.  DEA has an inimitable and challenging problem set in the Caribbean, with both domestic and foreign offices covering thousands of square miles with hundreds of islands that speak multiple languages.  Although situated in the Caribbean, the Miami FD has oversight of the Cayman Islands, Cuba, and the Commonwealth of the Bahamas.

The geographic location of the Caribbean Islands makes them extremely vulnerable to drug trafficking.  Historically, significant quantities of cocaine destined for the U.S. transited the Caribbean.  The illegal drug trade remains a menace to the public welfare and represents a serious threat to the rule of law in many Caribbean island nations.

The principal drug threat in the Caribbean region today continues to be cocaine; however, the smuggling and abuse of heroin, marijuana, and methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA, otherwise known as Ecstasy) are also of concern.  In addition, the diversion, unlawful sale, and abuse of prescription drugs are a growing threat in Puerto Rico and the USVI.  The increasing levels of drug-related violence in Puerto Rico, the USVI, and many Caribbean nations is one of the most pressing issues currently facing regional law enforcement and public officials.

For more information about a particular country, visit the CIA World Factbook.

DEA Caribbean Region Map


A-Z Index  Accessibility   Contact Us  FOIA  Legal Policies & Disclaimers  
No FEAR Act   Privacy Policy Plug-Ins Whistleblower Protection