News Release
May 16, 2008

Two More Defendants From The Owensboro D-Block Crack Cocaine Conspiracy Sentenced

MAY 16 -- (Owensboro, KY) - The Drug Enforcement Administration today announced that Dewayne Hall, a/k/a “Wayne” and Chance Morton were each sentenced to five years in prison for their involvement with the “D-Block” crack cocaine conspiracy.

On January 31, 2008, both Dewayne Hall and Chance Morton, pled guilty to charges stemming from the August 22, 2007, indictment which charged 14 total defendants. The facts contained in the plea agreements revealed that in 2006, law enforcement officers from the Owensboro Police Department, the Kentucky State Police, and the Drug Enforcement Administration were investigating a group of drug traffickers, known as D-Block, located in Owensboro, Kentucky. D-Block, which stands for “Drug Block,” refers to a geographic area controlled by a loose knit street gang located in Owensboro between West 8th and 9th Streets and in the vicinity of Pennbrooke Avenue. Ten other co-defendants were sentenced to a total of 50 years and 9 months previously.

Throughout this period of time, members of D-Block and other individuals associated with D-Block, conspired to sell quantities of base cocaine, otherwise known as "crack cocaine," within the community of Owensboro, Kentucky. During the investigation, law enforcement agents learned that Dewayne Hall and Chance Morton participated in this conspiracy by selling various quantities of "crack cocaine" to other individuals within the Owensboro community. In late August, 2007, both of these defendants were arrested in a major take-down conducted by the Owensboro Police Department, the Kentucky State Police, and the DEA.

Only two of the original fourteen indicted defendants have yet to be sentenced in this case. Co-defendant, Troy Anderson plead guilty on March 6, 2008, and is scheduled to be sentenced on May 29, 2008, at 9:00 a.m. Co-defendant Deanna Watson plead guilty on December 13, 2007 and is scheduled to be sentenced on June 3, 2008, at 9:00a.m.

On April 30, 2008, two co-defendants were sentenced: James Calhoun to 12 years, and Antoni Wimsatt to 5 years. On April 25, 2008, three co-defendants were sentenced: Desmond Morton was sentenced to 5 years; Damien Thruston was sentenced to3 years and 5 months; and Mario Palmer was sentenced to 2 years. On March 27, 2008, five co-defendants were sentenced: William Johnson, a/k/a “D-Buck,” was sentenced to 5 years 10 months; Jonathan Howard, a/k/a “240," was sentenced to 5 years; John Leak, a/k/a “Bunks,” was sentenced to 5 years; Montae Goodnight was sentenced to 5 years; and Jaime Payne was sentenced to 2 years 6 months.

The case is being prosecuted by Assistant United States Attorney Daniel P. Kinnicutt, and it was investigated by the Drug Enforcement Administration, the Owensboro Police Department, and the Kentucky State Police.