Drug Enforcement Administration
Skip Navigation

Press Room
News Releases
E-mail updates red envelope
Speeches & Testimony
Multi-Media Library

About Us
Organizational Chart
Programs & Operations
Wall of Honor
DEA Museum
Office Locations

Careers at DEA

DEA Drug Information
Drug Information Resources

Law Enforcement
Most Wanted
Major Operations
Threat Assessment
Training Programs
Stats & Facts
Additional Resources

Drug Prevention
For Young Adults
For Parents
Additional Drug Resources

Diversion Control & Prescription Drugs
Cases Against Doctors

Drug Policy
Controlled Substances Act
Federal Trafficking Penalties
Drug Scheduling

Legislative Resources


Acquisitions & Contracts

Need to know more about drugs?  www.justthinktwice.com

GetSmart About Drugs - A DEA Resource for Parents

News Release [printer-friendly version]
May 26, 2011
Contact: Rich Isaacson
Number: (313) 234-4310

Final Defendant Sentenced in 100 Kilo Crack Cocaine Distribution Conspiracy in Kentucky
Sentences range from 60 months to life in prison for the 20 defendants in DEA-led investigation  

MAY 26 – (PADUCAH, Ky.) – David J. Hale, United States Attorney for the Western District of Kentucky, announced today that Dwayne Michael Joseph was sentenced to 20 years in federal prison for conspiracy to distribute crack cocaine. The sentencing of Joseph by U.S. District Chief Judge Thomas B. Russell, brings to conclusion the successful prosecution of 20 Western Kentucky residents in this large crack cocaine distribution ring.

Joseph, of Hopkinsville, Kentucky, was sentenced to twenty years in prison with 10 years supervised release after being convicted by a federal jury on January 18, 2011, of conspiracy to distribute 50 grams of crack cocaine. Also, convicted were Hopkinsville residents James Lamonte Dunbar and Rodney Edward Moore who both received the mandatory sentence of life behind bars without the possibility of parole. According to evidence presented at trial, between June 2007, and June 2009, in Christian County, Kentucky and elsewhere, the total amount of crack cocaine distributed by this conspiracy was in excess of 100 kilograms.

Previously, Chief Judge Russell had sentenced sixteen co-defendants, who were indicted by a federal grand jury for their role in the crack cocaine distribution conspiracy. All had entered in to plea agreements with the United States Attorney’s Office. Alajawon Burks, Devona Riley and Ronnie Whalen were sentenced to 120 months in prison; Charles Jones was sentenced to 96 months in prison; Marcus Harris and Cameyon Roberts were sentenced to 60 months in prison. Marvin Acree, Perry Redd and Rex Whitlock to 120 months in prison; Amanda Elaine Bush to 240 months in prison; Anthony Hester, 180 months in prison; Alvin Wayne Quarles, 150 months in prison; Donald Williams, 96 months in prison; and Lartavious Banks and Corey Gray to 60 months in prison.

Taking the lead in this nearly two year-long investigation was the United States Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA), with assistance from the Western Kentucky Gun Crime Task Force. The task force includes investigators from the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (ATF), the Hopkinsville Police Department, and the Christian County Sheriff’s Department . The case is being prosecuted by Assistant United States Attorney Larry Fentress.



Home USDOJ.GOV Privacy Policy Contact Us Site Map